Four renewals complete the 2020 roster

Audrey Cordon-Ragot, Lauretta Hanson, Anna Plichta, and Abi Van Twisk renew with Trek-Segafredo

Trek-Segafredo is happy to confirm the contract renewals of four riders who have been of great value to the team in its inaugural season: Audrey Cordon-Ragot, Lauretta Hanson, Anna Plichta, and Abi Van Twisk.

French super-domestique Audrey Cordon-Ragot had a strong season helping the team leaders achieve their goals and taking her own chances. Her aggressive racing style earned her a win in a tough edition of the Drentse Acht race in The Netherlands when she went solo to the line after a long-range attack. Additionally, Audrey took the overall victory in the Tour de Bretagne racing for the French national team.

Cordon-Ragot: “I’m super happy, of course, because for me when I joined the team, I saw it as a long-term project, and I was hoping to remain with the team. I’m really glad to be able to continue promoting this amazing team along with its sponsors and partners.

“The team is looking very strong again for next year, especially with the addition of Lucinda Brand. We are planning to do more races with the young riders, and I think my role will be to share my experience with them and help them to grow. Personally, I would like to continue helping the team as much as I can and taking chances when I can like in Drentse when I was able to finish it off.”

Audrey Cordon-Ragot wins Drentse 8 van Westerveld.

Lauretta Hanson shares a laugh with Letizia Paternoster.

Joining Trek-Segafredo and racing a full season in Europe was a big step-up for Australian Lauretta Hanson. Her development throughout the year didn’t go unnoticed and earned her a spot on the roster for 2020. Lauretta really shone in helping to position the team’s sprinters for the bunch finishes and also achieved a great result in Le Samyn, where she took 4th.

Hanson: “Trek-Segafredo has been a great fit for me, and I’m really excited to be renewing for 2020. This year I was given the opportunity to just focus on my growth and development, and I think I gained a lot out of that. Next year we have the same team with the addition of two really strong riders, so I’m looking forward to capitalizing on what I learned this year, taking opportunities, and working hard for my teammates.”

Anna Plichta chats with Ruth Winder ahead of 2019 Giro Rosa Team Presentation.

Another rider who has shown solid results over the year is Anna Plichta, particularly in time-trials. In addition to taking the Polish national title, Anna achieved a top-5 result in the Madrid Challenge TT.

Plichta: “I’m very happy to stay with the team for another year. I really enjoyed the atmosphere here and appreciated all the possibilities the team is giving us to be at the best possible level. I’m glad that I have a chance not only to work and learn from other riders who are just the best in the world, but also having Ina (Teutenberg) and Giorgia (Bronzini) as sport directors is very special.

“This year, in general, went well for me. I developed myself and achieved some of my personal goals, including winning the National title in the time trial. I had some good chances from the team so I could race aggressively – that is how I like to race the most. After spending a season racing together, we know each other much better, which will be helpful when we come to the races next year.”

Abi Van Twisk prepares for the RideLondon race.

Abi Van Twisk played a supporting role this year as she develops her abilities. One noteworthy performance was at her home race, the OVO Energy Women’s Tour, which saw her ride tirelessly on the front of the peloton with Anna Plichta to protect team leader Lizzie Deignan’s lead in the General Classification.

Van Twisk: “I am super excited to be continuing with Trek-Segafredo next year. Being surrounded by such impressive and inspirational riders, along with the staff, creates the best environment to race. This year has been a huge learning curve for me, so I can’t wait to go into 2020 with more experience and help to win some more races together.”

The 2020 Trek-Segafredo team


Elynor Bäckstedt (UK)

Lucinda Brand (NED)

Audrey Cordon-Ragot (FRA)

Elizabeth Deignan (UK)

Lauretta Hanson (AUS)

Lotta Lepistö (FIN)

Elisa Longo Borghini (ITA)

Letizia Paternoster (ITA)

Anna Plichta (POL)

Ellen van Dijk (NED)

Abigail Van Twisk (UK)

Tayler Wiles (USA)

Ruth Winder (USA)

Trixi Worrack (GER)